Travel: Fantastic Foods – Colombian

Anyone who personally knows me know that i can be a picky eater BUT I try not to let that stop me from trying new foods. I LOVE trying new foods whether it’s in town or out of town. I’m a few days late posting this but here it is.

I recently started dating this AMAZING man who is on his journey to completing culinary school. When you think chef you think of “a lover of food” right? So, aspiring chef/entrepreneur boyfriend of mine loves to try new food whether it’s making everything from scratch or going out to eat. Since we’ve been together we’ve tried plenty of new restaurants and I’ve tried a few dishes that he’s made from scratch being that I agreed to be his critic and his first person of choice to try any new dish he makes. 😁

With that being said, he takes me out to lunch at least once a week and is usually the one to choose restaurants lol. This past Friday he came across a Columbian restaurant, El Rincon Paisa Restaurante, near my place of employment in West Houston just outside The Energy Corridor.

fullsizeoutput_4d8
El Rincon Paisa. Houston, TX
El Rincon Paisa is a homestyle Colombian restaurant in a compact, family-run eatery with baked goods and daily breakfast.

We both ordered Limonadas (Limeade) which were frozen drinks slush like.

IMG_7207
Limonada which was DELICIOUS!
I ordered the Pechuga A La Plancha which is a grilled chicken breast that is served with rice and two sides and my two sides were Ensalada (Green Salad) and Maduros (Sweet Plantains). Sweet plantains are a Latin side dish that is popular wherever Plantains are grown but are also popular in other countries as the U.S. Unlike bananas which are most often eaten raw while plantains usually require cooking or other processing, and are used either when green or under-ripe (and therefore starchy) or overripe (and therefore sweet). Sweet Plantains are made by being fried with the addition of cinnamon, vanilla, and sugar (sometimes honey).

fullsizeoutput_4d7
Pechuga A La Plancha
My boyfriend ordered the Pechuga A La Plancha which is a chicken breast cooked in Creole sauce, served with rice and two sides and his two sides of choice were Maduros (Sweet Plantains) and Cassava (Yuca). Yuca’s are roots that has a delicate flavor and can replace potatoes.

[did not get the chance to get a photo]

Once we received the check the waitress gave us 2 Supercoco’s (Colombian’s famous candy). It was my first time trying Colombian candy and I must say it was soooooo DELICIOUS! If you like/love coconut then it’s a must try. I also came across this website that sells Latin food and recipes are also available! Link below:

http://www.amigofoods.com/sutuca8oz.html

IMG_7206
Colombian candy: SUPERCOCO also available online as lollipops
Verdict: The dish I had was very tasty with the exception of the rice which was blan and could have had a dash of salt to it. Everything else was amazing! I’d have to give it 3.5 stars.

I hope you’ve enjoyed my first food post and I hope you enjoyed it. I’m looking forward to many food postings so stay tuned!

xoxo,

Christina 💋

P.S. I’m still pretty new to the blogging world and ir anyone has any tips on how to keep up with blogging while being super busy with family and career please feel free to share. 😁

Leave a Reply

